Top 10 performances

So I decided to making a list of my favorite performances from an Actor. This is not a list according to the greatest performance someone has done. These are the the rolls that I keep coming back to, and are able to leave me fascinated.

Robert De Niro – The Deer Hunter

Robert De Niro performance in the The Deer Hunter is the first time he’s caught my attention. He was great the whole movie but the famous Russian Roulette scene while caught captive is flawless.

The Deer Hunter

Heath Ledger – The Dark Knight

For me I was not expecting thi performance. The late Heath Ledger brought the Joker to life in this movie, and in the most insane and terrifying way imaginable. This is easily one of the best portrayals of a villain in cinema history.

The Dark Knight

Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds

I love Christoph Waltz in this film! He was a charismatic Colonel of the Third Reich. He had some great witty humor that hid his ruthlessness towards the Jews and their helpers. He also spoke fluent German, English, Italian, and French in the movie.

Inglourious Basterds

Samuel L Jackson – Pulp Fiction

One of my favorite characters ever is Jules. This guy is borderline crazy, from reading a bible verse before killing people, to speaking about some of the most random stuff and most often with a lot of vulgar, but at the same time an intelligent “Bad Mother Fucker.”

Pulp Fiction

Jack Nicholson – The Shining 

This may be the first time I really noticed what great acting is. The psychological downward spiral he had from the start to finish of the film was superb. A scene I watch over and over is the typewriter scene right after Wendy discovered what he was writing. The way he talks down on her, his facial expressions, tone of voice had me on the edge of my seat. The whole movie is like a big suspense waiting for the moment Jack will finally snap and physically go crazy, not just mentally.

The Shining

Peter Sellers – Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb

Group Captain Lionel Mandrake, President Merkin Muffley, and Dr. Strangelove himself. I mean what can you say the man gave three brilliant performances in 1 movie.

dr strangelove

Edward Norton – American History X

This was the first time I’ve seen Norton perform, and I will tell you I was blown away! His performance as a Neo-Nazi was excecuted with the upmost convinction! As the story pursued you saw where these ideas sprung from and how he slowly steered away from that life, and wanted to prevent his brother from following that road.

American History X

Joe Pesci – GoodFellas

Pesci’s performance as Tommy De Vito in GoodFellas was too great. He is a small man but completely psycho in the movie. It was hard to tell when he’s joking or being serious. The “How am I funny” scene has to be one of the most intense scenes I’ve watched.

GoodFellas

Michael Fassbender – Prometheus

Fassbender stole the show as a highly intelligent Android. His posture was the biggest thing that caught my attention. It was perfect, and that goes along with his other incredible acting skills.

PROM-008 -  Aboard an alien vessel, David (Michael Fassbender) makes a discovery that could have world-changing consequences.

Leonardo DiCaprio – Revolutionary Road 

Leo is such a great actor that has starred in numerous major rolls, but this is one performance that never gets mentioned. The acting done by him in this movie along with Kate Winslet was incredible. The argument (Shell of a woman) between them was a Oscar worthy, but you know DiCaprio wasn’t even nominated…

Revolutionary Road

Other worthy mentions

Ellen Burstyn – Requiem for a Dream

Benedict Cumberbatch – Star Trek Into Darkness

Ryan Gosling – Drive

Peter Lorre – M

James Stewart – It’s a Wonderful Life

Orson Welles – Citizen Kane

