Misconceptions of Star Trek

startrek

Star Trek The Original Series focuses on the adventures of Captain James T. Kirk & the U.S.S Enterprise, a interstellar spacecraft from Earth’s Starfleet Command. The 5 year mission of the Enterprise is “to explore strange new worlds, to see out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no man has gone before.”

Well I want to try and clear up any misconceptions of Star Trek, that I’ve heard and have even thought myself. Star Trek is a show that examines social issues that were going on in the 1960s and even many things relevant today, such as peace/war, role of technology, genocide, politics and to show optimistic view for the future.  The social commentary is actually quite brilliant. This is one of the reasons why I LOVE Star Trek. I’ve seen almost all the episodes in season 1 and a great majority of them has dialogue that actually keeps you thinking. Proposes both sides of the story to the topic, and you watch how they go about the situation at hand. There’s some action, adventure, suspense and mystery all incorporated into the episodes.

Star Trek isn’t a rip off of Star Wars. Star Trek The Original Series came out in 1966, whereas the movie Star Wars: A New Hope came out in 1977.  I can see where they get related because they both travel the galaxy and encounter new worlds, but have some big differences. Star Wars to me is more fantasy. I love Star Wars, they have some of the coolest looking aliens, and many different planets, but in the end it’s all about Good vs Evil. In Star Trek, the aliens or I suppose you could say intelligent beings are more human like for the most part. The issues spoken about are for a more mature audience. In the end they are both brilliant franchises that have both helped one another as more movies are released.

This isn’t a show that only “geeks” watch. I can definitely see where people get that idea from; I actually thought this as well. There are massive fans which people call “Trekkies” who go to the Star Trek conventions dressed up in their favorite attire in accordance with the show. At these conventions they meet the cast, have signings, talk to people who also love the show, and most importantly they are having fun. If you ask me that sounds no different than sports fans who go to the games, wear the jerseys, have tattoos in relation to their favorite team, and attend signings. I feel bad that it took me so long to realize that, but better late than never. Trek has changed the way I look at people; who are passionate in things that might not popular among fellow peers or society.

Well that’s all I can think of really. Feel free to comment some more stuff If you have any in mind. I don’t even know if anybody cares to read this but if it helped you great! Star Trek TOS and TNG are great series, as well as the 2009 and 2011 movies. I still have a lot of movies, series, and episodes to watch though haha.

The-Enterprise-star-trek-original-series-19173698-540-304

Going to write up a review of Season 1 of The Original Series with my 10 favorite episodes, hopefully today but if not I will have it done this week 🙂

Cheers!

